The Importance of “Me Time”.

2 Jun

17022408_1353711668024363_1606529349296452801_n

It can be so hard to see the positives when everything is going wrong and it seems likes there’s only negative things happening. And some days, weeks, even months can be more difficult to deal with and extra exhausting than others.

But it’s okay to take time out and look after yourself. In fact, it’s more than okay, it’s essential. If today is a bad day and I can only summon the energy to stumble downstairs wearing my pyjamas and eat a humongous bag of chocolate while crying at a soppy film…that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I might text rather than speak to people but I will still let my loved ones know I love them. There’s no guilt. No pressure to act okay, when I don’t feel okay. It’s me time. The opportunity to take comfort in simple things and not feel bad or guilty for “wasting” a day.

And if today is a good day and I feel amazing, well that’s awesome. I will try and get as much done as I can. I will do the things I enjoy and make time to speak, visit, spend time with my loved ones and tell them how much I love them. Hug them. Make them laugh.

As my Irish gran used to say, “we’re here for a good time, not a long time.” There’s no such thing as a perfect life. We should not be so hard on ourselves. All we can do is our best, at this particular moment in time. 🙂

18814225_10158681293630368_4797006467490114997_n

Leave a Reply

