Representation Always Matters by Lesley Davis

30 May

Bold Strokes Books, UK

raging-at-the-stars

I don’t read straight fiction now. I used to, back when there wasn’t anything else to read and no such thing as the internet to peruse to find a ton of queer fanfiction just waiting to be devoured. (We’re talking a few decades ago, okay, maybe more than a few to be honest!) It was a lonely read; no one was like me amid the pages so I couldn’t identify with the characters, as much as I’d have liked to. As a lesbian desperate to read about a world where I fit in, I searched for my kind of books, ones written about women who were gay just like me. They were rare finds, hidden away on back shelves, or in bookshops that kept them in the basement as if they were something forbidden and not allowed to see the light of day.

At first I felt like I was…

View original post 411 more words

Leave a Reply

