A new start…

8 Jan

veg

Over the Christmas period and in the build up to the New Year, I did a lot of thinking and reflecting. This time last year I was in a rather dark place and external factors beyond my control, were making things worse. My health was poor and my job was ridiculously stressful.

Looking back, I’m proud of how I changed the second half of last year and all that I achieved as a result. I focused and worked hard on my writing, I attended courses, I read books on self editing and joined a writing group. It all paid off because now I’m getting published!

I can’t believe just how much I’ve missed writing. There’s something therapeutic about disappearing into a different world, journeying with new characters and getting to know them. Writing makes me happy and even Lou has mentioned how cheery I am at the moment. My new story is flowing nicely.

Lou and I also got engaged and are now closing in on the date of our ceremony… hence the healthy eating and forcing of physical (torture) exercise that we’re both inflicting on ourselves.

We had a new edition join our little family and although at times I’ve literally wanted to scream and tear my hair out, she’s now growing into a beautiful, (sometimes) well behaved puppy. Our home would be quiet, calm and relaxed but it certainly wouldn’t feel complete without her. (Although, we do have to purchase a whole new set of Christmas decorations next year as she’s pretty much destroyed the ones we had up this last Christmas.)

We made lots of new friends during the past year and I’m grateful for every single one of them. We also managed to catch up with lots of old friends. I know we don’t get to see each other as often as we’d like, but I still love them to bits and I hope they know it.

Finally, I’m in the process of setting up my own business. It’s scary but also very exciting. I’m even starting to feel a bit like a full grown adult.

So, the most important lesson I learnt last year, is no matter how crappy things seem, it’s important to force yourself to get out and have new experiences…especially if it’s the last thing you feel like doing.  I understand that you can’t change everything, (ill health and financial resources etc). But if there are elements that are making you unhappy and there is something you could do to change them… (exercise, professional and personal development)then do it! There’s so much to gain.

4 Responses to “A new start…”

  1. Roo Stainton January 8, 2013 at 5:02 PM #

    You, my love, are an inspiration. Love you x

    • authoramydunne January 8, 2013 at 6:15 PM #

      That’s lovely. Thank you, Roo. You’re an inspiration too. You’ve started your very own business up and the things you make are very beautiful. Just goes to show what a talented bunch us Keele rugby girls are! Love ya too.x

  2. Victoria Oldham January 10, 2013 at 11:44 AM #

    I’m so glad I got to be a part of your 2012 period. Whatever growth you did, you rock. 2013 is going to be awesome.

    • authoramydunne January 10, 2013 at 12:06 PM #

      Vic, you played a massive part in my 2012. Without going on your amazing editing course, listening to your advice and having your support I’d never have finally got my manuscript ready for submission. So, thank you. And I hope your 2013 improves quickly and turns out to be your best year yet. Your deserve it, matey.

Leave a Reply

